Award Recipients


Call for Nominations, Save the Date for SOCT's 2017 Hall of Fame Event

Hall of Fame 6.jpg

The 2017 Hall of Fame Dinner will be held on Wednesday, March 22, 2017 at the Aqua Turf Country Club in Plantsville. Save the date and don't miss this spectacular event where dedicated athletes, volunteers and sponsors are recognized for their years of service and outstanding contributions to Special Olympics!

NEW AWARD - This year, a new award will be presented to an outstanding Special Olympics Connecticut Local Program. Local Programs are essential in helping us fulfill our mission and provide life-changing opportunities to athletes.

2017 honorees will be announced soon!

Our 2016 honorees included: 

Hall of Fame:

Eunice Murtha Award - Susan Joy Gabrielson
Community Leadership Award - TD Bank
Lew Perkins Coach Award - Louis Banda
Sheila Schmidt Award - Nicholas Fligno
Bozzuto Family Award - The Dilger Family
Susan Saint James Award - Dr. Susan Danberg
Eunice Kennedy Shriver Award - Alison Smith

Spirit of Life Awards:

Tim Fritz
Robin Goewey
Tamara Hitchman
Christopher McGrail
Jason Vansickle
Chris Amadeo
Robert Russo
Emily Truyan

Unsung Hero Awards:

Donna Clauson
Amy Desmarais
Isabel DeSousa
Dave Falt
Carlo Guerra
Morty Pear
Trudy Segla
Roberta "Bobbi" Shorthouse
Gary Voccio
Dr. Neal Zomback 

Sheila Schmidt Award – Presented to the volunteer who through unselfish efforts has made a significant impact on the entire organization.

Eunice Kennedy Shriver Award – Presented to the Special Olympics athlete who best exemplifies the spirit of Special Olympics above and beyond the requirements of a Spirit of Life winner.

Bozzuto Family Award – Presented to the family who, through volunteer and philanthropic support, has made a significant impact on the organization.
Lew Perkins Coach Award – Presented to the individual coach that has made a significant impact on Special Olympics athletes in the areas of training and keeping physically fit.

Eunice Murtha Award – Presented to the individual or family who through philanthropic means has made a significant impact on the organization.

Susan Saint James Award – Presented to an individual whose leadership skills have brought about positive changes to the organization.

Community Leadership Award – Presented to the company or organization that has made a significant impact on the organization through financial and volunteer support.

Unsung Hero Awards – Presented to volunteers who work tirelessly behind the scenes for Special Olympics Connecticut with no expectation of recognition or reward.

Spirit of Life Awards – Presented to Special Olympics athletes that exemplify the true meaning of Special Olympics.


President’s Awards are presented to those who have made outstanding contributions to Special Olympics Connecticut.