Men and women standing together on a stage wearing business attire and roses pinned to their clothing.

Recognition & Visibility

SOCT recognizes individuals and organizations who have committed their time and resources to supporting our mission. From Hall of Fame inductees to President's Award recipients, we are grateful for their contributions throughout the years.

*The 2022 Bozzuto Family Award was presented to the the Baker Family.

2023 Hall of Fame Honorees

Bozzuto Family Award 

William Bergeron and Mariel Bergeron Grace
Presented to a family who, through volunteer and philanthropic support, has a made a significant impact on the organization.

Coach of the Year Award

Kevin Grimes

Community Leadership Award

The Connecticut Elks Association

Eunice Kennedy Shriver Award  

Brandon Knight
Presented to the Special Olympics athlete who best exemplifies the spirit of Special Olympics above and beyond the requirements of a Spirit of Life winner.

Eunice Murtha Award 

Chris and Catherine Kortlandt
This award is presented to the individual or family who through philanthropic means has made a significant impact on the organization.

Outstanding Local Program Award

Special Olympics West Hartford
Presented to the Local Program that exemplifies the true meaning of Special Olympics.

Sheila Schmidt Award  

Tom and LuAnn Krywinski
Presented to the volunteer who, through unselfish efforts, has made a significant impact on the entire organization.

Susan Saint James Award 

Robert "Beau" Doherty
This award is presented an individual whose leadership skills have brought about positive changes to the organization.

Golisano Health Leadership Award 

MD23 Connecticut Lions

Norman Hanenbaum Lifetime Service Award 

Barry and Joyce Baiardi & Don and Deborah Conklin

Spirit of Life Awards for Exceptional Athletes

David Strick, Paul Kleva, Andrew McMillian, Bethel School District

Unsung Hero Awards for Exceptional Volunteers

Officer Erin Connole, Robin Sorey, Mike Law, Rose Doolittle, George Millerd

Previous Hall of Fame Honorees

President's Awards

2022 President’s Award Recipients

  • Frank "Cheech" DeFazio
  • Kate Jackson
  • Chris Sferruzzo
  • Paul Wilson

President’s Awards are presented to those who have made outstanding contributions to Special Olympics Connecticut.

Two athletes wearing blue

Previous President’s Award Recipients